This is an old revision of the document!

In Vedic astrology, the zodiac is divided into 27 nakshatras. Each nakshatra has a length of 360º/27 = 13º 20'. The first nakshatra, for example, stretches from the beginning of Aries to 13º 20' in Aries. The second nakshatra stretches from there to 26º 40' in Aries. The third nakshatra stretches from there to 10º in Taurus. The list of nakshatras with the respective starting and ending points is given in below table. The table also gives the “Vimsottari lords” of all nakshatras. This will be used later.
Each nakshatra is again divided into 4 quarters. They are called padas (legs/feet). The length of a nakshatra pada is 3º 20'.

Nakshatras (constellations) in Vedic Astrology

For the purpose of some special charts like Kota Chakra and Sarvatobhadra Chakra, we consider 28 nakshatras. The last quarter of Uttarashadha is known as “Abhijit”. However, we consider 27 nakshatras for all other purposes.

  • basics/nakshatras-intro.1559028074.txt.gz
  • Last modified: 2019/05/28 03:21
  • by admin